Skip to main content

How To Legally Drive A Shuttle Bus Or Church Bus

 

If you are wondering what kind of license you need to drive a shuttle bus or church bus you are in the right place. Shuttle buses are not governed by the same laws and regulations as traditional passenger and school buses.

You will need a CDL if your are going to be driving a shuttle bus from one state to another and the shuttle bus weights more than 26,000 lbs and/or the shuttle bus is used to transport 16 (15 passengers plus 1 driver) people at one time.

If your shuttle bus weights less than 26,000 lbs and transports less than 16 people you do not need to have a CDL to drive it. This information is from The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration of the United States (FMCSA).
Read More

What A CDL Permit Allows You To Do And How To Get It

 

A commercial learner’s permit (CLP) is a permit that you receive after passing the general knowledge exam at your local Department of Motor Vehicles. The commercial learner’s permit allows you, by law, to drive a commercial vehicle as long as someone that already has a valid CDL is seated next to you in the vehicle. You need your CLP so that you can begin driving a commercial vehicle during your training.
Read More

DOT Hours Of Service Rules For Truck Drivers

 

The hours of service regulations (HOS) for commercial motor vehicle drivers has undergone several changes recently and some of the information about them that you will find on the internet is inaccurate. In this article I will clearly describe the hours of service regulations and address many of the most common questions drivers have about the law. If you are looking for accurate and comprehensive information about hours of service laws for truck drivers drivers you are at the right place. Information Source

The hours of service rules are the following:

Rule 1: Once the duty period starts it runs for 14 consecutive hours after which the driver may not operate a commercial vehicle again until having another 10 or more consecutive hours off duty. Nothing stops the running of the 14 hour clock.

Rule 2: During the 14 hour period, which is also called the “driving window”, you may drive a maximum of 11 hours.
Read More

Best States For Truck Drivers

The best state for tractor trailer drivers based on average salary is North Dakota. North Dakota has the highest average salary for tractor trailer drivers in the United States at $53,730. North Dakota also has the highest paid metropolitan (Bismarck) and non metropolitan (west central North Dakota) areas for tractor trailer drivers.

I’m not suggesting that you immediately move to any of these states or metropolitan areas based on this data but if you live near some of the locations below it may give you an idea of what you can expect when searching for a tractor trailer trucking driving job.
Read More